Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer


Your council

Rooksdown Parish Council is the lowest elected tier of local government, and is apolitical in the sense that political parties are not represented. You are also represented by elected officials at Borough level (your borough councillor) and County level (your county councillor).

Your councillors

Rooksdown Parish Council consists of nine parish councillors and a clerk. This total includes the chairman and vice-chairman. All councillor positions are voluntary and councillors are residents of the area, giving up their time to look after the interests of the residents of Rooksdown. No parish councillors are paid for their work.  

The clerk is responsible for administering council business and is the legal and procedural advisor to the council.  The clerk is the only employee of the council, but we contract services such as maintenance work to others.

Although you are welcome to approach any member of the council, please contact the clerk in the first instance for any general council business.

Councillors’ interests

All councillors are required to declare their interests – houses they own, business they work for, etc – to aid transparency.  The Register of Interests entries for Rooksdown councillors can be found on the BDBC website

Code of conduct

All councillors are required to uphold the seven principles of public life: the “Nolan Principles”. These represent the ethical standards that must be upheld by anybody in public office. At parish council level these are expressed in the Code of Conduct, which all parish councillors have agreed to adhere to.

Being a councillor

You can find out more about being a councillor by reading the following: